Music today comes from Jazz trumpeter Ian Carr who sadly died in 2009 aged 75. Whilst he was alive he made a lot of great Jazz-Rock albums with the band Nucleus and as part of a Jazz-Rock fraternity that included Allan Holdsworth, Chris Spedding (who knew), Karl Jenkins, Roy Babbington – and way too many to mention. Belladonna was the first solo album after three Nucleus albums that set the scene for the rest of his career and although only one band member remained from the Nucleus lineup, saxophonist Brian Smith, this album became a fan favourite. I was only able to find three tracks from the studio album online although it is available on Spotify. There is a live version of the album on YouTube. Carr was a clever fellow, he wrote two biographies, one on Keith Jarrett and another on Miles Davis. He was associate professor at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

Music Of The Daze

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Belladonna (13:42)
2. Summer Rain (6:13)
3. Remadione (3:48)
4. Mayday (5:41)
5. Suspension (6:15)
6. Hector’s House (4:33)

Total Time: 40:12

Lineup / Musicians

Ian Carr: trumpet, flugelhorn

– Brian Smith: tenor & soprano saxophones, alto & bamboo flutes
– Allan Holdsworth: guitar
– Dave MacRae: Fender electric piano
– Gordon Beck: Hohner electric piano (1,4-6)
– Roy Babbington: bass
– Clive Thacker: drums, percussion
– Trevor Tomkins: percussion (1,3,4)

Artwork: Denise Valentine

LP Vertigo – 6360 076 (1972, UK)

CD Linam Records – LMCD 9.00744 O (1990, Germany)
2xCD BGO Records – BGOCD566 (2002, UK)
Bundled edition with “Solar Plexus” album

The musical musings in this post are an excerpt from my daily blog, TO WHERE I AM NOW, featured on my main website. See more pictures and read the full post here.